149
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[-] bedwyr@piefed.ca 2 points 2 days ago

But, to wipe a computer, you have to delete, then write new information over it. Deleting just deletes the references or whatever to the information.

[-] UsernamesAreForSuckers@lemmy.world 3 points 1 day ago* (last edited 1 day ago)

Factory reset - you can tie the phone to a blank cloud account easily, then switch back to your main cloud account with another factory reset when you are home and safe. Just an option for people who want to keep their device for the trip. Usually your main phone will have a really good camera and other capabilities burners don’t.

[-] hemmes@lemmy.world 5 points 2 days ago

If you’re using encryption you should be good.

this post was submitted on 01 Oct 2026
149 points (98.1% liked)

Privacy

10826 readers
183 users here now

A community for Lemmy users interested in privacy

Rules:

  1. Be civil
  2. No spam posting
  3. Keep posts on-topic
  4. No trolling

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS