362
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
this post was submitted on 04 Oct 2026
362 points (99.7% liked)
PC Gaming
15574 readers
718 users here now
For PC gaming news and discussion. PCGamingWiki
Rules:
- Be Respectful.
- No Spam or Porn.
- No Advertising.
- No Memes.
- No Tech Support.
- No questions about buying/building computers.
- No game suggestions, friend requests, surveys, or begging.
- No Let's Plays, streams, highlight reels/montages, random videos or shorts.
- No off-topic posts/comments, within reason.
- Use the original source, no clickbait titles, no duplicates. (Submissions should be from the original source if possible, unless from paywalled or non-english sources. If the title is clickbait or lacks context you may lightly edit the title.)
founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
The key is in firmware which is setup before you write any data. So to “delete” any data you simply wipe the key.
Even if you use software to encrypt the drive luks would just mean any data written to the drive would be encrypted. Old data my zeroed out could technically be ready unless overwritten.
In either case your weirdly aggressive statement is wrong.